Unacceptable

There’s been much discussion on whether or not Ted Kennedy,given his pro-abortion stance, should receive a Catholic funeral.

Patrick Madrid discusses a Wall Street Journal article on how dissident Catholic priest theologians targeted and coached the Kennedys into rationalizing acceptance and then advocacy of abortion.  It’s a worthwhile read, if only for the historical context.  Where I would disagree is that the Kennedy culpability was in buying into the proffered rationalizations.  Granted, it was a time when nearly everything that was once unquestionable was indeed being questioned and re-examined.  However, one has a choice in how to respond to rationalizations.

Given his recent pro-abort record, should Kennedy be denied a Catholic funeral? Ed Peters, a canon lawyer, says no and gives his consideration here.

So there is basis for at least giving Kennedy the benefit of the doubt.

What is beyond debate is that Obama giving a eulogyduring a Catholic Mass is totally, completely, and absolutely unacceptable.  It’s no wonder ObamaCaths think it was okay to vote for the most pro-abortion candidate in history.  The appearance of Catholic acceptance, much less endorsement, of Obama’s pro-abortion actions needs to stop, and needs to stop now.

Eulogies are not in the rubrics for funeral Masses. I know local custom differs on this and I’ve attended funeral Masses where a family member has said a “good word” (the translation of the word eulogy) at the end of Mass, but even in that stretch, Obama certainly is not the one to do it.

When will the Catholic bishops start acting Catholic?  When will they begin to take seriously their charge to shepherd their flock?  How long, O Lord?

8 Responses to Unacceptable

  1. Sandy says:

    Hello,

    The question I have on this is: If he were not a Kennedy were there truly be any question about it all.

    I agree with all you said regarding Obama. Right on the target on that one. Thanks, Sandy

  2. David says:

    I think that the diocese did a lot to show that they weren’t too happy with him. I didn’t see the funeral so have to ask,

    I thought there was to be no eulogizing during a mass. I thought it had to be after “Ite, missa est”.
    Did Obama really eulogize during the mass? If not, then it’s simply a head of state honoring one of his supporters. Not that I’m anywhere near an Obama fan…

    But the Cardinal did not preside, the funeral was held in a Catholic Church, but not in the cathedral.

    I ignored the funeral myself, but these are the things I heard…I don’t think we can judge where Kennedy’s heart was at his passing, so if he’s a professed Catholic, I’m sure there’s an obligation to give him a Catholic funeral, whether we think he lived life right or not (personally, I don’t think so, but will let God do his job…)

    • “Did Obama really eulogize during the mass?”

      Statements like this, when the media is plastered with headlines about Obama eulogizing Kennedy at the funeral Mass are disingenuous, a disingenuousness that I don’t want to dignify with a reply.

      *************

      “If not, then it’s simply a head of state honoring one of his supporters.”

      Where do you find precendent for any “head of state honoring one of his supporters” at a Catholic Mass?

      **********

      Plus four disclaimers. If you’re so disinterested in Obama’s role in Kennedy’s funeral, how did you find this blog, much less this thread?

      • David says:

        Wow, what victriol! Ask a question, get slammed. I do not put any faith in secular outlets to repoort goings on in a Catholic Mass. And I’m no Obama supporter. So I question whether there was a eulogy during the mass. If so, it’s wrong. I didn’t see it, so I’m asking.

        Eulogies are given at Catholic Masses all the time. Usually after the mass is concluded, they give time for people to speak up. But that’s not “at the Mass.” It’s after. There’s precedent all over the place. When a big time supporter of our mayor died, the mayor eulogized him after the mass. Smaller scale, yes, but same idea.

        Disinterested? Yes. But given the accuracy of reporting about the Catholic Church, I want someone who saw it to give the facts. Guess I’ll have to wait for Raymond Arroyo. Thanks for nothing.

  3. Well David, I’ve since discovered that you have a WordPress blog, so that answers how you found this blog. My skepticism is due to this being a very new blog and the fact that I’ve been involved in blog discussions when others have indeed been disingenuous. Certain patterns raise red flags.

    I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt, but your erroneous assumption that I watched the funeral didn’t help you.

    I saw a “funeral program” similar to the one herehttp://thepage.time.com/program-for-funeral-mass/
    that indicated Obama gave a eulogy before the final commendation. “Heads of state” have no business doing any speaking in a Catholic church, whether it’s before or after the “ita missa est.” The time for that is the evening before or after the burial, not in the church itself. Obama speaking is especially grievous given his extreme pro-abortion views that are so opposed to Catholic teaching.

  4. David says:

    After a funeral mass, eulogies are allowable. The family can ask anyone they choose. I’m not saying it’s right or wrong. Strictly speaking, it’s not supposed to be done, but strictly speaking, many things aren’t supposed to be done that are done at mass. Pastors will usually give in to the grieving family. The question about ‘inside’ or ‘outside’ of mass is really sort of a Pharisaic question…because it’s a legal one…technically right or wrong speaks not of the hearts of those who are in charge.

    I’ve seen heads of cities, all sorts of civil authorities come into a Catholic funeral and after the mass is over, they give a eulogy. Most of whom I have problems with ephemerally, as I do with our president.

    Because of Kennedy’s prominence in our government, it was right that the president show his presence and say a few words. (I agree, should not have been in the mass, but I’m sure he pushed his way in…)

    Let God give Kennedy his due…Obama will eventually get his as well…as will we all.

    I am appalled by Catholics, in general, in this country. Very few know what obedience is. You and I might eventually be able to correct some of that, if we try and talk to them, and give good witness.

  5. Since strictly speaking, it’s not supposed to be done, then eulogies at Mass are NOT allowable.

    Abiding by the rubrics is not Pharisaical. When you stop at a red light, that’s not being Pharisaical, is it?

    As for what happens in your local churches, San Francisco is exactly a bastion of Catholic orthodoxy, so I wouldn’t put much stock in that. Nor does it make it right/allowable/okay.

    Granted the presence of political people, but Obama had NO right to speak. Mass is religious in nature, not political. Nor is it really even about the deceased. You obviously don’t really know the Catholic faith, so I don’t expect you to understand, but Obama speaking at a Catholic Mass is a grievously wrong.

    You’re appalled by Catholics? Where did that come from? Who do you think you are to say what anyone knows of obedience? You’re being presumptuous. You can also knock off the “you and I” talk.

    • David says:

      It’s pretty obvious that Americans are generally disobedient. They, in general, pick and choose what they want to believe and honor.

      I’ll knock it off, all right. *Shakes the dust from his sandals, turns his back, and leaves*

      Good luck with your blog.

Leave a Reply

