Fr. Corapi Conference – the Mass

Mass is always wonderful.  This Mass was well-organized, kudos to all who worked to make it flow well.

The homily was a good one on the Assumption. The homilist said that death is a consequence of sin and since Mary was conceived without sin, it makes sense that she was taken up to heaven. 

He told a story about a GPS and that we already have that to get to heaven (without having to press anything or recalculate) because of the sacrifice of the Mass.  Mary’s Yes to God.  We honor her because she was obedient to God.  The greatest for us is obedience because then we have grace in abundance. 

Music overall was well-d0ne.  I especially liked the two Marian hymns -Immaculate Mary and  Hail, Holy Queen –  and the third was John Michael Talbot’s wonderful version of the Magnificat.

People knelt during the Eucharistic Prayer, even thought there were no kneelers.  The three people directly in front of me stood during the Eucharistic Prayer (even the Consecration), but the other 11,000 plus people knelt.

The sung parts of the Mass were Haugen’s Mass of Creation setting.  For some, I know that will set their teeth on edge, but that’s a topic for another time.  The non-standard Agnus Dei did bother me. Coummunion songs included David Haas’ Now We Remain (which I happen to like), Suzanne Toolan’s I Am the Bread of Life (which I could easily live without, but it’s sung everywhere),  and a song that I didn’t recognize.  I would have liked some silence after everyone had received the Eucharist.

Quibbles aside, it is a joyful experience to be part of a multitude, present in the sense of attentive, to the sacrifice of the Mass.  In other quarters, I’ve heard grumping about concelebrated Masses, but I love concelebrated Masses.  The sight of so many – there were 75 at this Mass – with the seal of Holy Orders always lifts my heart.  With the thousands of laity, it reminds me of the verse of myriads of angels.  I looked up that verse, well two verses,  for this post. Revelation 5:11-12:

I looked again and heard the voices of many angels who surrounded the throne and the living creatures and the elders. They were countless 5 in number, and they cried out in a loud voice: “Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power and riches, wisdom and strength, honor and glory and blessing.”  (New American Bible)

The aptness of those verses is underscored because it was the Mass for the feast of Our Lady’s Assumption into heaven.

Leave a Reply

