Battle Ready?

As this year draws to a close, my overriding thought is of the (fortunately) unsuccessful Christmas Day Flight 253 attack, the Fort Hood massacre, and the present administation’s inability – and one could wonder* about unwillingness – to keep Americans safe.

*missing the red flags of the 253 undies would be bomber, the official version contradictiong 253 eyewitnesses, missing the red flags of the Fort Hood killer, a 9/11 “trial” – as if criminal matter and not act of war – in NYC, prosecuting US military and intelligence for doing their jobs, going after bloggers instead of the terrorists, .

Then I remember Jesus saying that we would have tribulation, that no matter the external circumstances, He would be with us. (sorry, can’t think of the verses off the top of my head)    Then I remember Pope John Paul II’s oft-repeated, “Be not afraid.” 

Granted, imperfections and sinfulness of people in the Church abound. Attacks on the Church and on Church teaching also abound. But we’ve been given all the spiritual graces and weapons we need. 

So let us
 face the new year
  armed with prayer and
    a willingness to be refined of the dross
      (in order for Christ to work more effectively in us),
         and think of Psalm 144:1-2:

Blessed be the LORD, my rock, who trains my hands for battle, my fingers for war;
My safe guard and my fortress, my stronghold, my deliverer, My shield, in whom I trust, who subdues peoples under me…

Speaking of spiritual battle may seem at odds with the traditional wish for peace in the New Year – and I do wish peace in the coming New Year to all readers of this blog – may it be the peace that the world can not bring,  the peace of Jesus through Mary.

Leave a Reply

