Setting the Record Straight – Updated Again

Prefacing this post is an excerpt from LOTR and when I pulled The Two Towers down, the book opened to the exact page where this passage appears: After Wormtongue accuses Gandalf of always and only brining bad news, Gandalf replies, “Yet in two ways may a man come with evil tidings. He may be a worker of evil, or he may be such as leaves well enough alone, and comes only to bring aid in time of need.”

At any rate, here is setting the record straight.

The more someone tries to silence voices other than their own, the more I will bring to light the ones that I know about.

On April 1, Cleansing Fire posted that the DoR has an adjutant bishop, which turned out to be a prank post.

The commenter before me mentioned several reasons why he didn’t appreciate it including “do not mess around with this topic.”

My post: Not funny for the reasons mentioned above.

Dennis called my post an “several ad hominem attacks” and that I had not given reasons.

That’s so clearly not the case that I didn’t spell it out, but perhaps I should. It’s not an ad hominem because I said nothing personal about the person writing the prank post. Despite the accusation that I did not give reasons, I clearly did say “for the reasons” above. I suggested to Dennis that he re-read the definition of ad hominem and show me where in my post there was one.

He couldn’t because I didn’t make any. As always happens when someone can’t answer my question, the next post makes a negative personal comment about me. This time it was a complaint that I always “provoke” and that it was tiring.

My response that it was just as tiring to be the recipient of knee jerk anger. I suggested taking that anger to Jesus on the Cross.

Gen removed only one side of the exchange. I left a post, which wasn’t posted the last time I checked, so I’ll post it here.

By selectively censoring the discussion, Gen
a) didn’t allow people to decide for themselves
b) left a false impression as to what happened.

Update 2:
The friends of CF can’t just let it rest. After I printed the response below that had been censored from the CF site, essentially saying I was done with that blog, one of the CF friends left a comment defending CF.   Isn’t if funny, I’m the one getting my name dragged through the mud, called everything under the sun, and the recipient of people going ballistic, yet when I set the record straight, instead of an apology, the CF group defends itself.  I guess the CF group thinks that being Catholic means never having to say you’re sorry.  Not the best cultural reference to make as it is before the time of those doing the name-calling, but it’s all that comes to mind at the moment.

At any rate, I did not publish the comment because of its similarity in content and style to the person using multiple names last fall.  In fact, the person yesterday used the same name as the comment that because of not gettnig the facts straight, started the huge escalated mess of last fall.

There is a pattern here.  I’ve saved all the comments for the possiblity of getting this straightened out. In the meantime, I have more important things to do than to spend time and energy on people who are more interested in playing games than in doing what’s needed.

Update
Because Gen arbitrarily censored my response to Dr. K – (I wonder if Gen even gave Dr. K the opportunity to read it, much less respond to it) – below is the my response.

Dr. K, now that I look at the thread again, I see that it was posted by Anonymous. I didn’t see it this morning and can assure you that it was not an intentional mistake. It was a mistake and I will apologize for that ONE mistake.

If you think “you are here to stir up trouble and point your self-righteous thumb at us,” that’s your problem. Or rather, you’ve taken on Gen’s problem. While you and Choir Loft have been pleasant, Gen has been snide to me since Day One.

The people here go absolutely ballistic at me for the slightest reason. Except for today’s mistaken identity and one time of allowing my frustration show last fall, my comments have all been in standard debate/discussion form.

Not so the Rochester bloggers. My points go unanswered. Look at my comments on this thread and tell me where, as Gen so snidely claims where exactly I supposedly tried to stir up trouble or point a self-righteous thunb at you. Whatever that means.

I’ll repeat what I said I my blog: since Gen deleted only my comments,
a) people don’t have the opportunity to make up their own mind as to my comments
b) Gen left a false impression as to what actually happened.

I did put on my blog the essence of the posts, simply because I dislike arbitrary censorship.

As to your prank post, I didn’t see the humor in it, but I’m not the only one who had that reaction. I think the topic is too much of a sore spot to be funny. To be honest, I think you folks are the ones who have blown my comments all out of proportion.

I didn’t think it was funny but I didn’t make any personally disparaging comments to or about you. That’s unlike the Rochester bloggers who have called me everything under the sun.

If you and Gen want to be control freaks and delete any posts I might make, that’s certainly your perogative. Not that I intend on posting here as I’ve decided that other than a once a week surf, my time can be better spent elsewhere.

Dr. K, now that I look at the thread again, I see that it was posted by Anonymous. I didn’t see it this morning and can assure you that it was not an intentional mistake. It was a mistake and I will apologize for that ONE mistake.

If you think “you are here to stir up trouble and point your self-righteous thumb at us,” that’s your problem. Or rather, you’ve taken on Gen’s problem. While you and Choir Loft have been pleasant, Gen has been snide to me since Day One.

The people here go absolutely ballistic at me for the slightest reason. Except for today’s mistaken identity and one time of allowing my frustration show last fall, my comments have all been in standard debate/discussion form.

Not so the Rochester bloggers. My points go unanswered. Look at my comments on this thread and tell me where, as Gen so snidely claims where exactly I supposedly tried to stir up trouble or point a self-righteous thunb at you. Whatever that means.

I’ll repeat what I said I my blog: since Gen deleted only my comments,
a) people don’t have the opportunity to make up their own mind as to my comments
b) Gen left a false impression as to what actually happened.

I did put on my blog the essence of the posts, simply because I dislike arbitrary censorship.

As to your prank post, I didn’t see the humor in it, but I’m not the only one who had that reaction. I think the topic is too much of a sore spot to be funny. To be honest, I think you folks are the ones who have blown my comments all out of proportion.

I didn’t think it was funny but I didn’t make any personally disparaging comments to or about you. That’s unlike the Rochester bloggers who have called me everything under the sun.

If you and Gen want to be control freaks and delete any posts I might make, that’s certainly your perogative. Not that I intend on posting here as I’ve decided that other than a once a week surf, my time can be better spent elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

