Two Saints: Doctor and True Devotion

Today is St. Catherine of Siena, one of three women Doctors of the Church out of thirty some odd Doctors of the Church.  EWTN Live yesterday had Fr. Thomas McDermott, who’s written a book on Catherine of Siena.   It’s worth finding the archive and listening to it.

Yesterday was the memorial of St. Louis de Montfort. (I missed being born on his memorial day by 30 minutes, a piece of trivia you probably didn’t want to know.)  De Montfort’s book True Devotion to Mary and included consecration to Jesus through Mary basically changed my life.  The translation I read was Eddie Doherty’s translation of True Devotion to Mary available from Madonna House Publications.

Here are the words of the act of consecration:

I, N, a faithless sinner – renew and ratify today in your hands, O Immaculate Mother, the vows of my Baptism; I renounce forever Satan, his pomps and works, and I give myself entirely to Jesus Christ, the Incarnate Wisdom, to carry my cross after Him all the days of my life, and to be more faithful to Him than I have ever been before.

In the presence of all the heavenly court I choose you this day for my Mother and Queen. I deliver and consecrate to you, as your slave, my body and soul, my goods, both interior and exterior, and even the value of all my good actions, past, present, and future, leaving to you the entire and full right of disposing of me, and all that belongs to me, without exception, according to your good pleasure, for the greater glory of God, in time and in eternity. Amen.

2 Responses to Two Saints: Doctor and True Devotion

  1. Michael says:

    “I missed being born on his memorial day by 30 minutes, a piece of trivia you probably didn’t want to know.”

    Well, let us put said bit of trivia (a trivium, then?) to good use and wish you a happy birthday!

    Now, does that mean your birthday was on Tuesday? Or is it today?

  2. Hi Michael,

    It’s good to hear from you. My birthday was Tuesday, thanks!

    Yes, you’re right – it’s trivium. If I’d known you’d find my blog, I’d have been more careful 🙂

Leave a Reply

